The perks of being broke.

2015/01/img_7584-1.jpg
We are coming up on our four year wedding anniversary (tomorrow!!) and life is amazing.

I am so thankful that my mom taught me the value in working hard (with a good work ethic) for what we have, working hard to take care of our family and to live within my means. It is a lesson I will take with me until the day I die and I hope to pass along to my son as well. No matter our salary, we can still work hard and remain joyful.

Here are some things we may have never experienced in our young marriage (without a lot of money!) had we had things been different:

My tiny two door Saturn (seeing my 6 foot 4 hubby drive that was hilarious

Our tiny apartment.

Falling asleep on the couch while I waited for my husband to get home when we worked opposite shifts.

Sleeping in the living room of our one bedroom apartment and letting the baby have the master bedroom (he wouldnt sleep if we were in the same room AND he wouldn’t sleep anywhere else).

Our “stay cation” a couple summers ago because we couldn’t afford to actually go very far (turned out to be the most fun week!).

The movie dates in, with homemade cookies and milk.

Frozen pizzas.

Finally getting TV and internet in our apartment.

Hand-me-down furniture (the best and most loved things ever!).

The list could go on forever! I feel so blessed to have lived the life we have had so far. Sure, we would love to own a home and have extra spending money. But is it worth giving up such amazing experiences? Never! Never ever would I go back and change a single thing.

Moving forward, we are continuously working on our careers and our savings. And we are slowly making progress! But I have to remind myself to be in the moment and enjoy what we do have. And it is amazing!

2015/01/img_0967.jpg
Here’s to four years of marriage, being young and in love!

XOXO
Brittany

One thought on “The perks of being broke.

Let me know what you are thinking!

