We Will Not Forget. 9/11

As it hit me yesterday that today was September 11th, my heart sunk and my stomach was twisted.
How did 13 years go by so fast? I began to think about the families that were impacted and it all hit even more near to my heart, more so this year than any other.
Maybe it’s because I am a mom. Maybe because I see the younger generations that have no idea what 9/11 is yet know anything and everything about the latest celebrity scandal and it hit me. This is the world Grady will grow up in. My job as a parent just got a lot harder.

IMG_8093-0.JPG

War is different than it used to be. Things feel more cruel and twisted. The nation isn’t as banded together as we were 13 years ago. Will it take another crisis to feel like “one nation”? I remember the feeling after the 9/11 attack. The feeling of gratefulness, fear, sadness, yet an overwhelming sense of unity and love.

As most people will say, they can remember what they were doing at the exact moment the attack happened.
I was young but I still remember that day as clear as day. I was in 6th grade and I was off track. I can picture the way our living room was set up. My mom, aunt Rachel, my sisters and I were together and glued to the TV. I don’t know if my sisters were old enough to remember or realize what was going on. We sat on the floor speechless.

Looking back now, it is so surreal to have lived through this event. It changed our nation and the world forever. As I raise Grady in this world it is my job to make sure he grows up aware. My hope is that he will understand the importance of our history, the impact these events have on our lives. I know that this event will be in his history books in school and I do hope it gets the attention it deserves and that the children have not only the opportunity but the desire to learn and understand what happened on 9/11/2001.

will teach Grady this. We will always remember. 

We will never forget. 

 

 

Let me know what you are thinking!

