Fit mom. Or not.

Wow.
The last big cardio session I can remember was the day I gave birth. I attempted a Jillian Michaels video, Yoga Inferno.
I. Was. Dying.

20140320-163933.jpg

As I try on swim suits (attempting to cover my now tiger striped belly, thighs and boobs) I realize, all over again, how soft I am. I am back to my pre pregnancy weight but I am not the same.

This is OKAY!
But it is hard. We all know that. So I am taking control of my new mom body.
Things I am NOT going to do:
crash diet: extended breastfeeding is more important to me than my flat stomach. It just is. And a low calorie diet and over exertion is a sure fire way to kill your milk supply. This does not mean, however, that it is impossible to lose weight while breastfeeding.
Set goals that are unattainable. Yes, I will challenge myself. No, I will not set myself up for failure.
Judge or compare my mom body to others. This is the hardest thing for me. Women compare themselves to others, period. This will be my biggest struggle.
Things I AM going to do:
Eat cleaner. This is simple. And would I give it to my son? No? Then don’t eat it.
Walk more. I already walk a ton with Grady but I am setting a goal of three times a week with intention of sweating!
Exercise (besides walking) two days a week. (At least.) This means yoga, a strength training circuit with hand weights at home, Pilates. Something I can do during Grady’s nap time.. Instead of nap!
I will be posting weekly updates and I hope this encourages you in your health journey as well!
XOXO
Brittany

Let me know what you are thinking!

