Back to work update

Please ignore any grammar or spelling errors. If I ramble on and don’t make sense, please forgive me. This is coming from one sleep deprived mama trying to find balance in her new schedule.

It has officially been two weeks since I returned to work. And both my husband and i have not slept more than four and a half hours on a work day. I knew we would have challenges when I went back to work but oh boy I did not expect such a huge sleep regression! Grady went from one 7-8 hour stretch, a feed and then another 3-4 hour stretch until 7am! It was heaven! Now I have no clue when he will decide to wake up in the middle of the night, I leave at 4am for work, my husband gets home after midnight and this sweet little boy gladly wakes up his daddy at 5am!

20131015-134804.jpg

Between mommy being gone in the morning and daddy feeding him bottles we are all trying to adapt to this new schedule and routine. It is crazy prep work for me with preparing bottles and my pump prior to work but so worth it to keep Grady exclusively breast fed!
I know this is all temporary and it is making us stronger as a family!
Because we have had such a hard time adjusting I thought I might share my advice for moms returning to work!
Trust your baby’s caregiver. I am incredibly blessed that Grady can stay home with his daddy. I feel confident that he is well loved and taken care of. Find someone you trust completely to watch your little one and a huge load of stress will be lifted off your shoulders!
Prepare ahead. I try to get everything I need for the next day (work clothes, lunch, breast pump, Grady’s bottles etc.) ready
prior to Grady and I’s bedtime routine. I work very early so I want to go to bed right when Grady does. If you don’t sleep early you will at least have some ‘you’ time without worrying about your morning!
Be clear with your boss. This is important. Wether you are going to part time or full time, work mornings or evenings, work weekends or no weekends. What ever it is, be clear what you are willing to do so you can plan accordingly for a sitter or in my case how many bottles to prep! Also plan for family time. My Sunday is sacred to me. It is our family day and often the only day we have off together.
If you’re breastfeeding, stick it out! it is hard and awkward to pump at my place of work. I have managed to make it work though because I am determines to nurse Grady a full year. If you want to continue breastfeeding just understand it will be difficult, cause lots of dishes (between bottles and pump parts!) and possibly awkward at work but it is so worth it!
Cherish the time you do have with your baby. I can’t wait to hold my son when I get home! It’s the best feeling in the world to see him smile when he sees me. Every minute I have with him is so important to me now that I am not with him 24/7.
Relax! I have gotten to the point now where while I’m at work I’m not on the verge of tears missing my little guy! We gotta do what we gotta do and it is best for our babies!

My desire is to stay home as much as possible with my baby as soon as possible. My husband and I are on the same page and we are praying and working towards that! In the meantime we will juggle a messy home, tired spouse and amazing baby!

What are your tips for going back to work and making the most of the time you have with your family?

Let me know what you are thinking!

