Postpartum Tummy

Ok. This post is extremely scary for me! It has been on my heart to bare all and reveal my new tummy to my readers in hopes to give them more confidence in their new bodies as well as to encourage pregnant women to embrace their pregnant bellies!

If you haven’t read my previous post about “my squishy” click here to read!
I am still very insecure about my postpartum belly, don’t get me wrong. But I am learning to embrace it. Stretch marks, loose skin, funky belly button and all!
Whenever I see my tummy, I wish I was pregnant again. And if I see a pregnant women I can’t help but think how adorable she looks with her pregnant belly! I loved my baby bump. I was all belly! I didn’t get stretch marks until I was 30 weeks pregnant and from there they just kept growing and growing. I did everything I could to prevent them (even though they say they are genetic) which actually makes me feel better about having them! I would have killed myself thinking “what if I had used cocoa butter, coconut oil, bio-oil, vitamin E oil etc. etc.” So all of my mamas-to-be, yes moisturize, but above all enjoy your beautiful bump!
Let me break this down.

20130913-094100.jpg
This was me at 39 weeks . Did I mention that I LOVED my bump!?
I gained a total of 36 pounds while I was pregnant for 41weeks and 2 days.
Baby G weighed 8 pounds 10 ounces at birth and was 21 inches long (no wonder my belly got so big).
I still have 10 pounds to lose and no, I am not working that hard at it yet. I am getting there!
My belly button is weird now. It half way popped out while I was pregnant and it is so funky now!
I have stretch marks going from the back of my hips all the way across my stomach and they go a few inches above my belly button. I also got them on other parts of my body.
I’m telling you this because some women see celebrities and other moms that bounce back so fast we don’t have time to blink! But that is not reality for most women.
It takes time and energy, which we don’t have much of as new moms! And that is OKAY.
We may have imperfect bodies but we have perfect babies as a result! Embrace your squishy, embrace your new stripes and enjoy your new baby!
Ok, here it goes!

20130913-093136.jpg
My tummy at 8 weeks postpartum. Phew! Look at those stretch marks!

Here isn’t tummy at around 10 months postpartum:

IMG_6370.JPG
It has gotten so much better. It is still soft and I have a lot of loose skin and stretch marks. But it’s improving!

So I may never wear a bikini again (but I have found two awesome “tankinis” that I love!). And my hips may never be the size they once were, that’s ok! I have to most beautiful gift in the world and he was well worth every imperfection!

5 thoughts on “Postpartum Tummy

  1. Pingback: Postpartum Tummy Update: #ilovemybikinibody | Real Mom Diary

Let me know what you are thinking!

