My Squishy

“I shall call him squishy and he shall be mine. And he shall be my squishy.”
-Dory

Dory in the movie Finding Nemo was talking to a jelly fish. I, however, am talking to my postpartum belly. My squishy.
Oh how my body has changed as a mom. Some things I expected, some things I did not.
The first thing we noticed was my belly, of course. Literally seconds after baby G was born my stomach turned into a big squishy mess in front of our eyes. Even my husband was in shock watching it go from a nice round baby oven to a deflated balloon. I had expected a soft tummy and everyone tells you that you will look 5 months pregnant after birth. What I didn’t think about was that at 5 months pregnant I had a tiny cute little bump while postpartum belly is saggy and squishy. Oh how I miss my pregnant belly and how I was happy that it hung over my pants.
The second thing that shocked me were my hips. I have always had curves, but oh boy do I now know the meaning of birthing hips! Even when I had dropped my baby weight, none of my pants fit me. They are inches and inches away from buttoning, if I can even manage to get them up over my new hips in the first place! I am still learning to work with these new curves that I worked hard to get! Boobs are strictly feeding tools. They grow, they leak, they sag, they engorge. I swear my boobs have been through more changes than I can count. They grew during pregnancy, which was new to me because I have always been small! Then after birth my milk started coming in and that was… Shocking to say the least. I was scared that I would have these giant milk jugs hanging from my chest the entire time I nursed my baby. But then they started to relax a little. And a little more. And some more. And now I understand why moms get boob jobs. They will never, ever, be the same.

With this all being said, I am coming to terms with my body. Please don’t think I am complaining. I am merely being transparent in hopes to bring a laugh or encouragement to a fellow mommy. When I get down on myself for how my tummy is soft and covered in stretch marks, or my hips don’t fit in those jeans, I remind myself that I nurtured a child in my womb for 9 months. They are battle scars to be proud of. My breasts are not the same but they nourish my baby. This new body is something to be proud of. It is also something to take care of. Being able to dress confidently and take a shower makes all the difference to a new mom. So mommies, don’t forget about you! You are beautiful, squishy and all!

6 thoughts on “My Squishy

  1. Love it! I haven’t put in much effort towards losing my “squishy” since bubs was only born 2 weeks ago, but I know that I’m not going to fit into a lot of these clothes anymore..

    Like

Let me know what you are thinking!

